Companion dog

by Guide Dogs Scotland Claimed

Our companion dog service offers friendship and emotional support to adults with sight loss and their families. These well-behaved and well-trained dogs can help build your confidence and improve your wellbeing by giving you a reason to get out more. You’ll enjoy the health benefits of a more active lifestyle as well as the unconditional love of one of these wonderful dogs.
At present, this service is only available for adults with a vision impairment who have sighted support within the household.
A companion dog is:
• A friendly, well-behaved dog
• Here to help you build confidence and get out more
• Owned by Guide Dogs (not by you or your family)
• Looked after and paid for by you and your family, including vets’ bills and insurance
Companion dogs are not the same as guide dogs – you can’t use them for sighted assistance or as a mobility aid. In the same way, you can’t take them to places where a pet dog legally wouldn’t be allowed in. Some places may let them in but it’s their choice – they don’t have to.

Last updated 10/06/2021

Can you help us improve this listing? Give feedback


Email this listing Print this listing
Recommend this service Improve this listing

This service can be edited only by the person who has claimed the organisation. If you want to suggest any changes, please click on the “Improve this listing” link above to submit your feedback.

Back to last search

Contact information

 0800 781 1444
This service is under the category: Stroke , Diabetes , Eye Conditions , Learning Disability , Physical Disability , Learning Difficulties , Exercise & Get Fit , Physical Health Issues , Disability , Physical Activity , Conditions , Health & Social Care Services , Support Network , Mental Health Issues , Activity , Sensory Impairment

Delivered across
  • · Clackmannanshire (Local Authority)
  • · Dumfries and Galloway (Local Authority)
  • · East Ayrshire (Local Authority)
  • · East Lothian (Local Authority)
  • · East Renfrewshire (Local Authority)
  • · Na h-Eileanan Siar (Local Authority)
  • · Falkirk (Local Authority)
  • · Highland (Local Authority)
  • · Inverclyde (Local Authority)
  • · Midlothian (Local Authority)
  • · Moray (Local Authority)
  • · North Ayrshire (Local Authority)
  • · Orkney Islands (Local Authority)
  • · Scottish Borders (Local Authority)
  • · Shetland Islands (Local Authority)
  • · South Ayrshire (Local Authority)
  • · South Lanarkshire (Local Authority)
  • · Stirling (Local Authority)
  • · Aberdeen City (Local Authority)
  • · Aberdeenshire (Local Authority)
  • · Argyll and Bute (Local Authority)
  • · City of Edinburgh (Local Authority)
  • · Renfrewshire (Local Authority)
  • · West Dunbartonshire (Local Authority)
  • · West Lothian (Local Authority)
  • · Angus (Local Authority)
  • · Dundee City (Local Authority)
  • · North Lanarkshire (Local Authority)
  • · East Dunbartonshire (Local Authority)
  • · Glasgow City (Local Authority)
  • · Scotland (Country)
  • · Perth and Kinross (Local Authority)
  • · Fife (Local Authority)

To learn more about service areas.